By
Mike Smith

Introducing Error Merging ⎌

We're excited to introduce merging (and un-merging) of errors! Merging errors lets you combine multiple errors into one 'group' for easier management and more accurate metrics. All past and future occurrences of any merged errors will automatically be combined and grouped. Today's merged errors are tomorrow's error groupings. :-)

Merge errors

When you encounter a duplicated error, you'll want to create a new 'group'. Select one or more errors from the same environment in the error Items feed. Slide the toggle in the box above to 'Merge', set appropriate Level, Status, Owner, and Source values, enter a name for the new item, and click 'Merge'. Done, error merge success!

rollbar merge errors

Un-merge errors

Merged the wrong error by mistake? No problem! You can easily un-merge errors in Rollbar.

rollbar merge errors

Search for merged errors

By default, errors which have been merged into a group will no longer appear. To view these errors, you can search for is:member. To only show grouped errors, you can search for is:group.

We hope that you and your team will save more time in your day-to-day debugging efforts with Error Merging. Check out the error merging documentation for more details. We appreciate your feedback. Email support@rollbar.com and let us know your thoughts.


If you haven’t already, signup for a 14-day free trial of Rollbar and let us help you defeat annoying errors in your applications. :-)

Comments