See Continuous Code Improvement in Action. Join Rollbar's live product demo!
September 22nd, 2020 • By Brian Rue
For both monthly and annual plans, your account will have a billing cycle that starts on the day of the month when you originally signed up for the plan. The billing cycle is used to calculate your monthly usage. If you sign up after the 28th then your billing cycle date will vary depending on the length of the month.
If you exceed your monthly event limit, you can pay per event over the limit. If your on-demand charge is sufficiently high that it would be more economical to upgrade to the next plan, then we'll do it for you automatically and you won't be charged for the overages.
Once your account has been automatically upgraded, it will remain at the new plan level for future billing cycles. You can change your plan at any time by going to Account Settings –> Choose Plan. If you choose a lower plan level, the change will take effect at the start of your next monthly billing cycle.
You may also upgrade your subscription manually at any time by going to Account Settings –> Choose Plan.
If you are on a strict budget and don't mind missing some errors, then you can choose to disable on-demand events at Account Settings –> Billing Info. If on-demand is disabled and you reach your plan limit, we will not process new errors until your next billing cycle begins.
On-demand event charges are calculated at the end of your billing cycle, and are included in the next month's subscription charge.
If your account is upgraded (manually by you or automatically by us), then you will be charged immediately for the difference between your old plan and your new one. Your monthly billing date will remain the same.
Additionally, Rollbar annual plans offer a way to pre-pay for usage at a rate equivalent to receiving two months free in a year. If you are on an annual plan and exceed your monthly event limit, the cost of the additional events is deducted from the remaining balance of your prepayment, and your annual plan will end before 12 months. When the funds in an annual plan are fully depleted, your account will be charged the amount of the annual plan again, and a new annual cycle will begin.